My Gods, I choose not
To participate in any secret sin
It is my hope not to lie for
My own sake

For I know that I could
Live my entire life
Without pain and suffering
But that is a lie

I deceive myself with a partial
Truth, that one day I could live
A life of joy and prosperity
With one lie

But that is false for even if
Not one earthly conscious being
Knew of my secret,
You would know

And that is the One Being that
I can not bear false witness to or
Against, for You, my Gods, know
All and see all

How could I live with myself
Knowing that I bore false witness
Before You and sinned against You
For I am Your belonging

I wish to turn my heart away from
This world and all of the false
Pleasures and promises it makes
For it is not You

You are my everything and I wish
To turn my face towards Your blinding
Light everyday, even if it withers me
For my unworthiness

In truth, I do not wish to gain the world
For You are the world and everything
In it exists only because it sits
Firmly within Your hands

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started