Please, I beg of you, avert your eyes and do not look at me
For I am hideous, I am beyond revolting
As the poison seeps from my pores

Can’t you see that I choose this clothing to hide
All of my public curves and edges from your prying eyes
Avert your eyes and do not meet mine, especially if I have an interest
For I cannot bear the weight of your judgement

My dear lady and gentleman, there is no spectacle for you
For I am gangrenous, waiting for society to cut me from the root
So that it may continue peacefully without this wart

Aren’t you able to see that I have no self-esteem
That I believe the only place for me is below the dirt
Not even a worthy meal for the worms to ingest
For I cannot begin to lift myself from this abyss

My dear pedestrian, did we not just pass each other on the street a moment ago?
I couldn’t bear to look you in the eye as it seems you couldn’t either
Say, you don’t happen a cripplingly low sense of self worth, do you?

I was so enthralled in my own inner world
That I didn’t stop to notice you had one too

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started